Staff from Southport and Ormskirk Hospital NHS Hospital Trust have been honoured at the Time To Shine Awards

NHS heroes from across Southport Hospital and Ormskirk Hospital have been honoured at tonight’s 2021 Time To Shine Awards. 

ICU Nurse Jennifer Harrison was recognised as this year’s People’s Health Hero.

The award is chosen from staff nominated by members of the public. It’s an opportunity for a patient or family member to show their appreciation to a staff member. 

Doctor Sanjeev Sharma was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award. 

Dr Sharma has been an expert in Obstetrics And Gynaecology at both Southport Hospital and Ormskirk Hospital for nearly 30 years. 

A Southport and Ormskirk NHS Hospital Trust spokesperson said: “According to fellow obstetrician, Kevin Thomas, ‘Mr Sharma is a truly special, kind-hearted, gentle man who during his career touched the lives of so many’. Congratulations.”

The first award of the evening was the Thanks A Bunch Award chosen from all the staff and teams nominated in the monthly recognition scheme.

The winner is the Infection Control Team.

The Volunteer of the Year is Brian Conlan from Radio Heartbeat, the Southport and Ormskirk hospital radio station. Brian first joined the hospital radio in July 1985. 

The Improvement Award is for a team or individual who have used ideas or practice to improve the quality, safety and / or effectiveness to the way the Trust works for the benefit of patients and staff. 

Ward 15A was a winner in the Time To Shine Awards

Ward 15A was a winner in the Time To Shine Awards

The winners are Nurses Sophie Needham and Julie Marshall from the Acute Oncology Team.

The Learner of the Year Award is open to all learners who are on programmes leading to a formal qualification, including the Trust’s apprenticeship programme. 

The winner is Marie Wallace, Lead Nurse and Sexual Health Practitioner. 

Without non-clinical colleagues, there would be no NHS. They keep the lights on, our buildings clean and safe and run the much-needed technology.

The winner is Southport and Ormskirk Hospital Domestic Teams. 

ICU Nurse Jennifer Harrison is the People's Health Hero at the Time To Shine Awards

ICU Nurse Jennifer Harrison is the People’s Health Hero at the Time To Shine Awards

The Compassion in Action Award recognises those who have shown extraordinary compassion and kindness in all aspects of their work, always going the extra mile for service users and carers.

The winner is Admiral Nurse Hilary. 

This next award is for someone who is brilliant at doing their job. They’re loyal, committed and flexible. You know you can get it on them to get the job done. 

The winner is Kate Monaghan. 

Clinical mentors play a critical part in developing the healthcare professionals of the future – giving them the confidence to be the best they can be for patients. 

The winner of the Clinical Mentor of the Year is Dr Niranajani Ramachandran.

Always hotly-contested, this year’s Clinical Team of the Year Award winners are Ward 15A.

Tonight has seen several deserved awards given to local NHS workers, after what has been an incredibly challenging year for all concerned, and at a time when another Covid wave – this time fuelled by the Omicron variant – is growing. 

This is the 12th time the Time To Shine Awards has taken place. 

Chief Executive Trish-Armstrong-Childs said: “Everyone has worked tirelessly in very challenging circumstances this year and I know our community will want to thank them all.” 


Do you have a story for Stand Up For Southport? Please message Andrew Brown via Facebook here or email me at:


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?