Southport’s oldest hotel is preparing to create a stunning roof terrace with a retractable roof with “a unique experience” that includes views looking out across the coast.
The Bold Hotel, at 583 Lord Street in Southport town centre, has submitted a planning application for the scheme to Sefton Council.
The striking plans have been designed by Clayton Architecture Limited, which is based in Ainsdale.
The application also calls for the conversion of the attic at the Grade II Listed three-storey hotel into two new hotel rooms.
The existing flat roof would be converted into a roof terrace for additional external bar and seating.
It represents further substantial investment into redeveloping the ‘Northern Quarter’ of Lord Street by owners Mikhail Hotel & Leisure Group.
Owner Andrew Mikhail said: “We are incredibly excited and proud that we can continue investing in Southport.
“The encouragement from the tremendous leaders within the local council to improve this wonderful area help to keep us driven with our plans.”
Last year the company transformed the restaurant at The Bold Hotel into a stylish new carvery.
In recent years they have also opened the brand new Lord Street Hotel and Punch Tarmey’s Irish-themed bar on Lord Street.
The application says: “The proposal seeks to convert an existing attic space into two additional hotel guest rooms. The existing attic space is currently under-utilised for storage and already includes existing windows on each of the gable elevations. In order to achieve additional space a dormer has been proposed to include for additional head height within the rooms
“The attic conversion will enable the hotel growth whilst utilising underused space within the building.
“Over the years the property has undergone various improvements whilst under new management. The previous works have improved the condition and overall aesthetic appearance of this Grade II listed building, whilst also increasing footfall and business through improvement works.
“Due Covid-19, the applicant is looking to maximise the site potential and increase the capacity for external seating. External seating has been very important over the last few months for certain hospitality businesses, as such reviewing the overall capacity and availability of this is crucial in case such restrictions are reintroduced.
“The applicant wishes to make use of an existing flat roof to the rear of the property certainly does not contribute to this historic asset. The main structure will be retained and an entirely new platform will be created above.
“The new area will be fully external with retractable canopies, these will offer external seating year round and provide guests / visitors with a unique experience with an outlook towards the Southport Coast.
“The proposed roof terrace has been designed to include a platform lift, this is something which the hotel currently does not have, this will enable the roof terrace to be fully accessible by all.
“Currently the existing flat roof has a parapet wall detail, the design principle was to utilise this and increase the height whilst offering openings and views out to the coast on the northern boundary of the terrace.”
The Bold Hotel was built in 1832 and is listed by Historic England as ‘probably the oldest surviving hotel in Southport’.
During this time the resort was still in relative infancy. Originally a collection of fishermen’s cottages, the first villas and hotel appeared around 1798. A decade later there were two hotels and three by 1821; by 1825 Lord Street had been laid out, and was lined with cottages and villas.
The Bold Hotel takes its name presumably from Henry Bold Hoghton, one of the landowners responsible for the early development of Southport. It was originally the Bold Arms Hotel.
The building that stands today is the product of two main building phases. The three-storey main block, in restrained Neoclassical style, is of 1832 but a long rear wing to Seabank Road dates probably from the 1870s-1880s, when the facade’s prominent two-storey bay windows may also have been added. Further rear additions date probably from the 1970s.